Jesus Calling

“It is good that you recognize your weakness. That keeps you looking to Me, your Strength. Abundant life is…living in continual dependence on Me. Instead of trying to fit this day into a preconceived mold, relax, and be on the lookout for what I am doing. This mind-set will free you to enjoy Me and to find what I have planned for you to do. This is far better than trying to make things go according to your own plan.
You have Me on your side, so what are you worried about? I can equip you to do absolutely anything, as long as it is My will. The more difficult your day, the more I yearn to help you. Anxiety wraps you up in yourself, trapping you in your won thoughts. When you look to me and whisper My Name, you break free and received My help. Focus on Me, and you will find Peace in My presence.
~ Sarah Young from Jesus Calling, March 16

I’ll be the first to admit that my time spent in reading my Bible and praying with the Lord is very inconsistent. But I recently purchased Jesus Calling by Sarah Young and it’s been a great way to very slowly try to retrain my mind towards focusing on the Lord at least once a day. I also recently purchased Chris Rice’s albums The Living Room Sessions and Peace Like a River and Meredith Andrews’ Worth It All. All three have been playing on shuffle since Sunday and they have been a great way to keep me focused on God throughout my day.

So today. What are you doing to keep yourself focused on the Lord? Are you continually seeking the Peace that God offers anyone who comes to Him with an open heart? Or are you draining yourself dry trying to do life on your own?

I shower blessings on you daily, but sometimes you don’t perceive them. When your mind is stuck on a negative focus, you see neither Me nor My gifts. ~Sarah Young from Jesus Calling, March 20

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God,which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

One thought on “Jesus Calling

  1. I think we must be related….. I love “Jesus Calling”! Such simple truths. Starts the day off right. I agree, it helps me focus better. And love those old hymns more and more every day…! But you’re way ahead of me….wish I’d found these “helps” when I was your age….! 😉 (Oh! I also recommend “Come Away My Beloved” by Frances J. Roberts)

Leave a Reply

